Wednesday, January 14, 2015

Watch Out: North Carolina Fee Limitations on Home Loans

Like many states, North Carolina sets limits on closing fees and charges that a mortgage lender can impose on a borrower in connection with residential mortgage loans.  But North Carolina's fee restrictions are special in a number of ways.

First, on a "home loan" a lender's origination charges are limited to the following:

  • loan application, origination, commitment, and interest rate lock fees (HUD-1 801; GFE Box 1);
  • bona fide discount points (HUD-1 802; GFE Box 2); and
  • additional origination charges (in whatever name) in the aggregate not to exceed the greater of (i) 1/4 of 1% of the note amount, or (ii) $150.  (HUD-1 801; GFE Box 1)  See N.C. Gen. Stat. 24-1.1A(c)(1).

 The net result of the above limitation on a lender's origination charges is simple: other than application fee, origination, commitment fee, rate lock fee, and discount points, a lender can only charge an additional maximum of $150  to cover all other origination fees.  (It's worth noting that the statute does not limit the origination fee (point) to 1% or any particular amount.)  Anything beyond the limit will cause the loan to be out of tolerance.

Second, a "home loan" is defined to mean one where the loan:

  • has a principal amount (note amount) that is less than $300,000;
  • is a closed-ended transaction; and
  • is secured by a first lien against real property with, or to be built upon it, one or more single-family dwellings or dwelling units, or a manufactured home. 
Therefore, the definition is broad enough to cover purchase and refinance transactions to be secured by a principal residence, a second home, or investment property.  But, loans in a subordinate lien position is excluded.

Third, the applicable statute and regulations are silent on the penalties if a lender exceeds the limitation on origination charges.  Usually, it is acceptable under federal law, i.e., RESPA and TILA, to issue a lender credit at the time of closing, or a refund check post closing, to cure any tolerance violations.  When asked whether there is a cure mechanism applicable to a N.C. Gen. Stat. 24-1.1A(c)(1) violation, an employee at the mortgage compliance division of the North Carolina Commissioner of Banks indicated, via informal telephone guidance, that a refund check to the borrower along with a letter of explanation is an acceptable way to cure the violation.  Good record-keeping by a lender is advised in connection with discovering and curing a tolerance violation.   

2 comments:

  1. Read your blog its really informative and keep updating with newer information on home loans in India

    ReplyDelete
  2. Never get married and chnage your name.Your husband will take your money your children and ruin your life.

    ReplyDelete